Upgrades/Downgrades

Chargify offers the ability to upgrade or downgrade a Customer’s subscription in the middle of a billing period. There are three types of Upgrades/Downgrades: Non-prorated Product Changes, Prorated Upgrades/Downgrades, and Delayed Product Changes.

Product Changes (Non-prorated)

Product changes do not trigger any prorated charges or credits. Instead, they simply change the product on the subscription, and the new amount is billed normally at the next normal billing period.

To initiate a Product Change through the Admin Interface, click the Subscriptions tab and then click the ‘Change Product’ link in the Subscription options.

Alternatively, you can click the ‘Change Product’ link when viewing a Subscription.

Once you are in the Product Change page, you’ll be presented with a list of all available products. Find the product you wish to change to and then choose the Change to product option from the Actions button.

You will see a success message upon completion of the product change.

Product changes may also be made via the API by updating the product_handle on the subscription, as mentioned in the documentation on the API Update method on Subscriptions.

Prorated Upgrades/Downgrades

Prorated Upgrades/Downgrades cause will have the following effects:

  • Prorated credit: A prorated credit will be created to reimburse the Customer for their current product. Note that this is not a refund; no money will be returned to the user. The credit only effects the Customer’s balance.
  • Charge: A charge for the full amount of the new product will be applied
  • Updated Period Start/End Dates: The period start date will be reset to today’s date

Note: The prorated credit is always at least 0.01 currency units (for instance, $0.01). Even if your customer only had a product for a few seconds, proration will result in a minimum charge for that time of 0.01.

To initiate an upgrade or downgrade through the Admin Interface, click the Subscriptions tab and then click the ‘Upgrade/Downgrade’ link in the Subscription options.

Alternatively, you can click the ‘Upgrade/Downgrade’ link when viewing a Subscription.

Upon clicking ‘Upgrade/Downgrade’, you will be able to view the available products, as well as the current product associated with the Subscription. To migrate to another product, press the ‘Select Product’.

You will see a success message upon completion of the upgrade or downgrade. Check the Account Transactions tab for a list of the credits/charges that were created.

Upgrades/Downgrades can also be initiated through API; see API Migrations

The “Upgrade/Downgrade” page also provides a link to the Non-prorated Product Change page, in case that’s what you want to do instead.

Delayed Product Changes

Delayed Product Changes schedule a product change to the next renewal. Since the change happens exactly during the renewal process, no proration is necessary. A full charge for the new product will be applied at the start of the next period.

To initiate a Delayed Product Change through the Admin Interface, click the Subscriptions tab and then click the ‘Change Product’ link in the Subscription options.

Alternatively, you can click the ‘Change Product’ link when viewing a Subscription.

Once you are in the Product Change page, you’ll be presented with a list of all available products. Find the product you wish to change to and then choose the Schedule change to next renewal option from the Actions button.

You will see a success message when your product change has been scheduled. If you wish to cancel the delayed product change, you can do so at any time by clicking the Cancel link next to the Scheduled product change bar within the subscription header.